

Water Science Division Report

2024 Fall Trustees Meeting Submitted by Jeremiah Hunt, Oregon/Idaho Trustee

Key Highlights:

- The Water Research Committees (WRC) has grown its membership over the last year. The WRC currently has 17 active members, including officers. The increased member base will allow the WRC to be more active with generating lunch-n-learn webinars and workshops this upcoming year.
- On Tuesday, September 24th, The Water Treatment and Research Committees hosted a membrane workshop, which was well attended, and provided 0.5 CEUs to operators from WA and OR.

Background and Summary

Together, the Water Science Division Committees – Research, Treatment, Quality, and Resources – are in the final stages of developing many robust tracks of technical sessions for Boise 2024. The Water Science Division decided to take a more holistic approach to forming tracks than in past years, collaborating to create many joint tracks consisting of presentations from multiple committees. We believe this will offer attendees more relevant information by grouping presentations by subject matter, rather than simply by the committee that the presenter selected upon submission. The Committees are coordinating tours for attendees this year as well.

Overall, the Water Science Division Committees continue to be very active this year, increasing in-person and hybrid training opportunities for Section members and helping to develop another valuable conference for Section members, both for CEUs and advancement of industry knowledge. Thank you to our Committees leaders for their dedication, hard work, and collaboration!

Research Committee

Chair – Sarah Honious, City of Hillsboro Vice Chair – Danielle Philbrick, Stantec Secretary – Vacant

Treatment Committee

Chair – Ben Goecke, Kuraray Vice Chair – Tess Young, Jacobs Secretary – Julia Cummings, Carollo

Water Quality Committee

Chair – Mia Vijanderan, Brown and Caldwell Vice Chair – Aaron Duke, Hazen and Sawyer Secretary – Vacant

Water Resources Committee

Chair – Jacob Krall, Geosyntec Vice Chair – Kenny Janssen, GSI Water Solutions Secretary – Rodrigo Prugue, GSI Water Solutions